New Ohio Residents
Welcome to Ohio! You are considered an Ohio resident once you
- take a job,
- sign a lease,
- buy a home, or
- enroll children in school
Within 30 days of establishing residency, you will need an Ohio driver license for yourself, and an Ohio title and license plates for your vehicle.
Review the sections below and our Welcome New Resident Manual for more information.
The Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws will help you learn Ohio’s laws. You can get a free copy at any deputy registrar license agency, order a free copy by mail, or review it online from our Digest of Motor Vehicles page.
To convert your out-of-state driver license to an Ohio driver license, you will need to visit a deputy registrar license agency. You will need to bring proof of:
- Full legal name
- Date of birth
- Legal presence in the United States
- Social Security number
- Ohio street address (two proofs of Ohio address required for a federally-compliant license).
Please visit our Acceptable Documents page for a full list of identity documents and links to use our interactive process to assist you with what to bring to a deputy registrar agency.
Under Age 18?
Before you can become licensed in Ohio, you must:
- Provide proof of six months of driving experience (with at least 50 hours of driving, including 10 hours at night)
- Provide proof you’ve completed a driver education course that meets Ohio’s driver education requirements
- Have a co-signer (parent or legal guardian) with you
To see if your driver education course qualifies in Ohio, visit any driver examination station with your current license and your driver training certificate of completion. If you meet Ohio requirements, you can begin testing.
First-Time Driver or Expired Driver License
You will be required to pass a vision screening and a knowledge test at a driver examination station before you can purchase a Temporary Instructional Permit Identification Card (TIPIC).
Please see our Driver License First Issuance page for complete information.
Before you can register your vehicle and obtain license plates in Ohio, you need to convert your out-of-state title to an Ohio title.
Please see our Transferring an Out-of-State Title to Ohio page for complete information.
To register your vehicle in Ohio, go to a deputy registrar license agency and present your:
- Ohio Certificate of Title or Memorandum of Title
- Ohio driver license, state ID, or Social Security number
- Tax ID number (if the vehicle is titled in a business name)
- Lease agreement and power of attorney documents (if applicable)
- E-Check certificate (if applicable)
If your vehicle has two owners and one cannot be present, you must bring a signed, notarized power of attorney form or a Power of Attorney for Ohio Vehicle Registration (form BMV 5736) with you.
Please see our Vehicle Registration First Issuance page for complete information.